SheRox Duathlon

Or that one time I actually placed…

I’ll just start at the beginning because this was a really awesome race. I’ve wanted to do the SheRox Triathlon for a few years, but do to a lack of pool, I’ve always pushed it off. Two weeks ago I found out they had a duathlon division and I immediately signed up.

The duathlon was a 2 mile run, 15.5 mile bike ride, followed by a 3.1 mile run. I’m in the middle of training for my marathon and thought this would be a fun little goal to have. My training for this consisted of my usual runs and 2 bike rides. Yeah not a lot of training.

SheRox Duathlon

Eric always jokingly asks me before races what place I am going to get, because you know, I never actually place. I jokingly replied 3rd.

SheRox Duathlon

SheRox Duathlon

I really wanted to push myself, though, because my runs lately have been lackluster. And slow. Oh so slow. I figured I could go balls to the wall atleast for the first 2 mile run. I was placed in the 1st wave and took off with the other ladies. Surprisingly my legs were feeling good and hot-damn they wanted to run. So run we did and maintained just under a 8min/mile pace.

SheRox Duathlon

SheRox Duathlon

SheRox Duathlon

I finished up the run and headed into the transition area to put on my bike shoes and grab my bike. I think the hardest part of the entire race was running in bike cleats through grass while holding your bike.

SheRox Duathlon

The bike portion consisted of 2 loops in Fairmount Park. The first loop was great and not very crowded. The second loop was crazy packed because most of the triathletes were out of the water and on their bikes. I did a pretty good job of handling my bike and shifting at the appropriate time. I don’t really know much about bike pacing so I just went as fast as my legs would let me.

SheRox Duathlon

SheRox Duathlon

Going through the transition area the second time was actually really hard. My legs were really confused and felt disorientated and like jelly. I racked my bike, took off my helmet, put on my running shoes (I used these bungee laces and they were AWESOME!) and grabbed a gel to suck down.

SheRox Duathlon

Took off running for my 5k and was surprised that I was maintaining a 8:30-8:45min/mile. I had to really push through this run and did take a few quick walk breaks but I think I did pretty good overall.

SheRox Duathlon

SheRox Duathlon

SheRox Duathlon

SheRox Duathlon

And then like that it was over. I finished a little over 1 hour and 40 minutes.

SheRox Duathlon

We hung around for a bit, watching some people, when are friends came over and said the results had been posted and I got 3rd place in my age division. Seriously? What the hell?

edited to add…i just found out i got a 2 minute penalty because i put my bike on the wrong rack. i got there late and had NO idea where to put my bike and only had 5 minutes to set up my transition area. i had no idea i would receive a penalty for this. so results wise i got 5th, but i call bullshit and will say i still got 3rd.

10 responses to “SheRox Duathlon

  1. that’s a fast run! i did the austin mini-tri a few years ago and it was almost 100 degrees by the time we finished. good job on third!!

  2. Congratulations! That is such an awesome job. Hope you grabbed a few brews post-race.

  3. We should train for a century ride…just sayin’…we can do a boys vs girls between you, me, chase, and eric….

    Congrats d00der!

  4. congrats woman, that is awesome!!!!!!!!!! wahoooo!

  5. Way to go!! and you’re still in 3rd place with me 🙂 that is impressive!

  6. I didn’t realize that SheRox has a duathlon division, either – how cool!

    Congrats on the speedy finish!

  7. Congrats! You are the most awesomest person. Ever. And you’re still the third place winner to me!

  8. WAY TO GO, GIRL!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

