Lancaster Farm Fresh CSA Contents

1 Head Green Cabbage – Certified Organic – Windy Hollow Organics
6 Ears Bi-Color Sweet Corn – Organically Grown – Family Cow Farm
3 Red Tomatoes – Certified Organic – Green Valley Organics
1 Bag Yellow Wax Beans – Certified Organic – Countryside Organics
1 Bunch Fresh Yellow Onions – Certified Organic – Crystal Springs Organics
1 Head Cheddar Cauliflower – Certified Organic – Echo Valley Organics
1 Bunch Yellow Chard – Certified Organic – Maple Lawn Organics

This week I found out that corn is one of the most difficult crops to grow organically. I had no idea, but our corn sure was delicious.
And I have a random corn question…How do you eat your corn? Around the cob, or typewriter style? Eric and I have noticed that people from the South eat around the cob, but everyone from the Northeast eats down the cob. It’s kind of weird and fascinating!

11 responses to “Lancaster Farm Fresh CSA Contents

  1. is that first picture cheddar cauli? looks awesome. you make veggies look so sexy haha. i eat my corn typewriter style and never miss a single kernel

  2. You don’t like tomatoes?…

  3. I always start eating around the cob, until I get sick of bits in my teeth then I just cut the kernels off with a knife. Lately I’ve been putting corn on the grill and when it’s brown and yummy I squeeze a lime over it and sprinkle with salt and chili powder. toooo good!

  4. typewriter baby! 🙂

  5. lol, i eat it typewriter style and i am from ma.

  6. lately i have been putting fresh chopped basil in my earth balance and slathering that on the corn. yummy!

  7. Not gonna lie, all the little wormies in the corn this week freaked me out, despite the warning. I was peeling the corn really slowly and whenever I saw a worm hole in the husk I just hacked that part of the cob off so that I didn’t have to see the inside. What a wimp! It was good though- really delicious raw in a salad 🙂

  8. Oh and I’m from Virginia originally and eat it typewriter style 😉

  9. I eat it around the cob.

    And I was soooooo grossed out by what I found when I was shucking the corn this week. Ugh. This is why I usually buy the corn already shucked! That whole ear of corn went in the garbage!!

  10. I’m a life long Pennsylvanian and I eat around the cob, but I believe I used to eat it typewriter style.
    I used my corn this week to make corn stock and a light summery vegan corn chowder, which we’ve been enjoying with just about every meal.

  11. Beautiful pics!

    I think I do a weird combo of typewriter & around… I’ll have to pay attention next time! 🙂

Leave a Reply

