The Rest of Texas

I took some time off from the internet world last week and enjoyed the rest of my vacation. I have to say, this was probably the best Texas trip I have made. Everyday was packed with fun and I went to bed completely exhausted every night. I think I got to see the majority of my close friends, and I realized there is a pretty strong “Let’s get Eric and Lauren to move to Austin” committee.

Wednesday morning I caught a ride with Chase, my brother, and Jackie back to Austin. They take their cat on trips. It’s kind of weird…

Driving Lubbock to Austin

Once we arrived in Austin we headed out to get pizza. I forgot the name of the place, but they are pretty vegan friendly and are willing to leave the cheese off their pizzas. And I always forget how cheap beer is in Texas so I got this nice big bottle of Abita SOS. (Un)fortunately Chase and Jackie aren’t big drinkers so I had this all to myself.

Pizza dinner

Pizza dinner

Later in the night we went over to the East Side for some drinks, scrabble and to meet up with friends.

Thursday, for lunch, Chase, Jackie and I headed to our number 1 Austin spot, Matt’s El Rancho.

Lunch at Matt's El Rancho

Jackie was moving to New York the next day so it was a farewell lunch of delicious Mexican food.

Lunch at Matt's El Rancho

After lunch we stopped by Sugar Mama’s Bake Shop for some cupcakes.

Sugarmama's Bakery

Sugarmama's Bakery

Then Chase and Jackie had boring adult stuff to do the rest of the day, so I met up with some friends to go swimming! It’s hot everywhere in Texas, but Austin is HOT. I think we stayed in the pool all day.

Swamming

Swamming

Friday morning Chase and I met my friend Rachel at Bouldin Creek for some brunch foods. I tried their homemade veggie burger that was out of this world.

Breakfast at Bouldin

Rachel got the tofu scramble. I’ve never tasted a good tofu scramble and this stuff was crazy good. Full of nutritional yeast goodiness.

Breakfast at Bouldin

After eating we headed about 40 miles outside of town to Pedernales Falls State Park.

Hiking at Pedernales

The falls are known for their flash floods, but there is a big drought right now so it’s pretty crazy looking. There are all these mini pools of water.

Rachel and I met in high school and were always in art classes together. We became super awesome best friends a few years later. She’s pretty rad.

Hiking at Pedernales

The water was crazy clear and clean.

Hiking at Pedernales

Hiking at Pedernales

Hiking at Pedernales

It was also crazy hot.

Hiking at Pedernales

A few hours later we headed back into town and went swimming at Barton Springs.

Swimming at Barton Springs

Philadelphia really lacks swimming spots and is something I miss a lot of about Texas.

Later in the night Chase and I cleaned up and he took me out to dinner at his favorite Thai place, Titaya’s.

Dinner at Titaya's

The food was really good and all of their vegetarian items can be made vegan.

Dinner at Titaya's

Then we headed out for drinks so I could meet up with some more friends, who I sadly didn’t get a photograph of.

Draught House

Draught House

Draught House

I had to leave Saturday morning, so Chase and I went to Wheatsville Co-op for breakfast. I wish we had a Wheatsville in Philly.

Breakfast at Wheatsville

I grabbed a Red Rabbit donut, which I had heard good things about. This donut was freaking amazing. Best donut ever. I got the Mexican Chocolate flavor.

Red Rabbit Donut

I requested we stop by the capitol building on our way to the airport.

Austin, TX

Austin, TX

Austin, TX

Till next time Texas…

Texas

8 responses to “The Rest of Texas

  1. 1. Austin in the summer is the HOTTEST I’ve ever been. I was there three weeks ago and I’ve never been so hot in my entire life.
    2. I love your capitol dress. Like LOVEEEE it.
    3. When did Chase get big? I feel old. 😦

  2. Where did you get that cute romper dress thing in the capitol picture?

  3. looks awesome! i want to swim in rachael”s crazy bar pool!

  4. Oh my! I can SEE the nutritional yeast on that scramble. It looks so delicious! And I love that your friends bring their cat on car trips. Mine HATE the car!

  5. A really good tofu scramble at Cafette in Chestnut Hill πŸ™‚

  6. looks like you had a blast in texas! makes me want to go back reallyyyy bad!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

