The Last Supper

Last night Eric and I put on our best and rode down to have one last final dinner at Horizons.

After many years of serving epic vegan food, Horizons is closing its door and moving on. No need for vegans to fear, though, Rich and Kate plan to open a new restaurant in a couple of weeks, Vedge, which will be more focused on, well duh, vegetables. I, for one, am really excited about this new venture, and I think it will be right up my alley.

Horizons

Eric and I started with the BBQ Seitan. I gobbled up the black eyed pea salad (or as we say in Texas, Texas caviar!).

Horizons

For entrees, I got a mixed green salad and truffle fries. While it seems simple, Horizons always has amazing salad dressings so I love getting their salads.

Horizons

Horizons

Eric ordered the Grilled Seitan with yukon mash, spinach, horseradish cream, roasted red pepper tapenade. I picked at his plate and it was delicious as usual.

Horizons

And then came the best part CHOCOLATE STUFFED BEIGNETS.

Horizons

Also, this discussion came up on another blog I read, but I don’t try to let my bike dictate my outfits. I love riding in dresses and skirts, especially during the summer. I don’t love flashing people (although I think they enjoy it). A few years ago I picked up a pair of plain black spandex shorts, NOT bike shorts. I have a longer and shorter pair (this is the longer pair). I’ve found it works really well underneath, and I usually just take them off when I get to my destination.

And after many years of having different bike set-ups, I think I am completely happy with my current bike. Although I have been dreaming of getting a Dutch style bike with a step through frame.

23 responses to “The Last Supper

  1. Your hairstyle is so pretty!

  2. Horizons is closing!? Fuck I wanted to try It!
    Currently searching for bikes on craigslist. It’s such a pain but I love how many bikes are up on ny cl. I’ve seen so many step through bikes though.

    • Good, now you never will. Side note, what kind of bike are we talking about? You going to be living in a walkup?

      • Hey, you should shoot vedge an email about your new discovery: chip peas…they’ll be all over that. šŸ™‚ You know, you can even give them your famous chip pea recipea (PUN!).

        I don’t know yet, just looked for a quick minute. Cheap? I was trying to factor in shipping costs for my bike and I think it’s going to be just as expensive as getting something off of CL. I should have a better idea once I get there though. Yeah, I’ll be living in a walkup.

      • Eric, sell one of the cruisers and buy me a step through frame, HINT HINT. You like buying bikes.

  3. I have never tried Horizons before either. hmph!

  4. That’s a great idea. I love the last picture of you, gorgeous!

  5. Lauren~ Your hair looks fabulous. How did you get your braid to work like that? Is it one long braid, or pigtails? : )

  6. pamela chesnutt

    the food looks yummy-didn’t know you liked texas caviar-we will have to have some I love it You look beautiful

  7. When we got to Amsterdam, I said to Em, “Man, everyone rides a Dutch city bike here! Oh wait…”

  8. I just biked to and from the food co-op in a skirt – it was one of my longer ones but I didn’t wear anything underneath and it was fine. I think I might need to get really short shorts like yours because I can’t think of any other way around it for my really short skirts! I did binder clip my skirt closed because sometimes I’m wearing like, a gray skirt and AQUA underwear and dudes around here are f’n skeevy (also we’ve had like 3-4 attempted rapes in my 10 block radius in 3 months so I’m feeling irrationally extra protective, not that it really makes a difference what I wear) – but the binder clip was literally almost under me and uncomfortable bc my skirt was so short. And then I was paranoid it’d fall off.

    What do you do when you’re going to a place that doesn’t have a bathroom, per se? Like if I’m just going to a park or outdoor event like the Brklyn Flea market?

    Also, do you ever get stuck without them? I’m guessing that if I’m going to pick up my bike from home, I’ll be able to pick up shorts too.

    Hmmm.

  9. Those were 2 different situations – sorry for my stream of consciousness posting.

    Today: skirt 2″ above knee, totally fine

    Previously: skirt 5″ above the knee; binder clip; bit of a nightmare because dudes kept thinking I was half nekkid and leered at every stoplight.

    • I’ve never used these, but I am curious as to how well they would work, it’s a skirt garter clip: http://etsy.me/kbSFvL
      I also have a pair of these underwear from AA: http://store.americanapparel.net/rsat306.html?cid=220
      They definitely cover everything and I sometimes I just wear those instead of shorts + underwear.

      Ugh, yeah, I definitely ride often without anything underneath. I guess I usually try to ride with 1 hand and hold my dress next to my leg with the other.
      I actually got yelled at by a group of religious ladies the other day for showing too much skin.

      Hmm I guess when I have been to a place without a bathroom I’ve either kept the shorts on, or just slipped them off as discreetly as possible, haha.

  10. almanac market is closing too. šŸ˜¦

    I always wear short shorts under a skirt when i’m riding, or tights depending on the weather. still, it can be tough to maneuver in a mini or pencil skirt, so sometimes i just change into the skirt at my destination.

    • I saw that on the message board and I am really bummed out about it! I didn’t shop there often, but it was really nice for specialty items.

      I was wondering where you had been!

      • tasty moog

        yea, i kinda haven’t been blogging… combo of new job and actually doing stuff on the weekends! šŸ™‚

  11. That looks like a wonderful evening! And omg those beignets!!! Your pics make me drool šŸ™‚

  12. What a fun evening, and I adore your dress! Mind if I ask where you got it?

Leave a Reply

