Lubbock or Leave It

photo

This trip home was a very much needed mental break from the real world. The past few weeks were super stressful and the next few are only going to be worse.

I didn’t do a lot while home, but I took a few pictures (mostly from my phone) of the super awesome and relaxing things I did do.

The first thing I did was hang out with Bueller and Baxter, the dogs, a lot. I took them running most mornings and let me tell you, they are a handful.

photo(6)

I spent most of the afternoons hanging out at the pool, swimming some, but mostly reading trashy magazines.

photo(3) 

Baxter was really adamant about having his own lounge chair.

IMG_2781

photo(2)

One day my dad was nice enough to let me borrow his truck. This was comical for a variety of reasons.

1. The truck is HUGE. I have a Jetta which is tiny compared to this.

2. I don’t  drive often. Maybe once a week or every two weeks? My bike is my main transportation.

3. When I do drive, it’s Philly style, which is completely different than Lubbock style.

4. Let me just re-iterate, this truck is HUGE. Oh well, I guess when in Texas…

IMG_2785

In addition to doing a whole lot of nothing, I did eat my fair share, and drink a few beers I can’t find in PA. I also cooked for my parents a few times and they were very open to a few vegan things.

IMG_2779 photo(7)

We went out a few times and I enjoyed two favorites, On the Border and Thai Pepper.

photo(5) CameraBag_Photo_1001

I saw this in the grocery store and thought it was funny. Steelies just casually thrown in there between two nicer beers.

Fact, when Eric and I first met he only drank Steel Reserve. I like to think I opened his eyes to the world of wonderful beer.

photo(4)

I also did my fair share of shopping. Dad, ignore this part…

I got two dresses, two pairs of shoes, two skirts, a shirt and a bathing suit. I needed summer clothes.

IMG_2796

I’m coming back to Texas in July and I am already excited. I’ll be spending the 4th in Lubbock then heading down to Austin to hang with my brother and friends for a few days!

I’ll finish this post with a Bueller video. He gets angry when you stop petting him and will growl at you. It’s not mean at all, just really funny.

3 responses to “Lubbock or Leave It

  1. So much fun! Sometimes relaxation at home w/your parents is the best possible vacation from the real world!

  2. Sounds like a relaxing time in Texas. One beer I love is Shiner, I don’t know if I could live without Shiner I moved out of Texas. haha That dog is too cute, my Missy does the same when you stop petting her.

    • When we moved up here I brought Shiner in the car!! They recently started selling it around these parts so I can finally buy it again, but it’s a lot more expensive which sucks.

Leave a Reply

