Photos From The Weekend

The past few weekend updates have been a little weaksauce. Well hold on to your hats because this past weekend was EPIC.

Ok epic might be an exaggeration, but it was a lot of fun because we headed to Washington D.C. And I ran my first race of the season!

Eric and I left Philly Friday evening and made our way to Maryland to our friend Rob’s house. We were greeted by his cat Scarlet.
D.C.

We got in pretty late so we just crashed on Friday night.

Saturday morning we got up and headed into the city. Eric and I brought our bikes along so we could do a lot of sightseeing.
D.C.

We headed to the expo to pick up my packet, then headed a little north to Sticky Fingers Bakery. It was pretty crowded, but we were able to score a couple of seats. We ordered some food and Eric got a cinnamon roll and I got a cupcake.
D.C.

The cupcake was really good (and they won Cupcake Wars!).
D.C.

D.C.

I ordered the french toast which was pretty good.
D.C.

While the food and desserts were definitely good, I think Philly has D.C. beat with vegan food. I think Philly is often overlooked because it’s so close to NYC, but after visiting a few different places, Eric and I both agree that Philly is awesome for food.

Once we finished up there we headed out for lunch #2 at Soul Vegetarian. What can I say, I was with boys…
D.C.

Eric and I ate at Soul Vegetarian when we were in Atlanta and we were curious about the D.C. one. Since we were on bikes it wasn’t too far of a ride and we made it over there in about 5 minutes.
D.C.

I passed on food, but Eric ordered macaroni and cheese, and Rob got some lasagna.
D.C.

Once we finished we rode downtown to do all the touristy stuff.
D.C.

D.C.

D.C.

The weather started to look pretty bad…
D.C.

And next thing you know, we were riding through a hail storm.
D.C.

Riding through the hail

We found some shelter and hung out for a bit while it passed. Once it stopped raining/hailing, it turned out to be a pretty nice day!
D.C.

D.C.

And we got to see the cherry blossoms!
D.C.

D.C.

We stopped at the Lincoln Memorial and hung out for a while.
D.C.

Eric and I had a pretty intense conversation on the proper way to throw an almond to catch in your mouth.
D.C.

D.C.

D.C.

D.C.

We were pretty beat from walking and riding most of the day so we headed back to Maryland.
Eric and I were up bright and early Sunday morning to take the metro back in to D.C. for the Cherry Blossom 10 Miler! The plus side? We got to catch an amazing sunrise over the Capitol.
Cherry Blossom 10 Miler

Cherry Blossom 10 Miler

As always there was a crazy line for the bathrooms and I missed my corral starting and had to jump in with another one.

Cherry Blossom 10 Miler

The first two miles were pretty crazy. It was elbow to elbow and I got jabbed quite a few times. My pace was all over the place. I think if I was to do this race again, I would try to run with friends and my camera and just enjoy it and take lots of pictures. It’s really crowded, but really pretty. The crowd support was kind of meh until the end. It also seemed hard for people to get around to cheer others on. I actually never saw Eric the entire race!

Cherry Blossom 10 Miler

He missed me finishing but we caught up right afterwards. I don’t have my official time, but according to my Garmin I ran it in 1:26, so about a 8:36 pace/mile. Not bad, I will take that!
Cherry Blossom 10 Miler

We decided to grab brunch in the city and walked a few blocks to Busboys & Poets. We were able to beat the rush, but it was pretty funny to see the place packed with runners.
Busboys & Poets

Despite being only 10 am, Eric and I shared a celebratory beer (what, I needed the carbs!).
Busboys & Poets

Eric ordered some Moroccan soup to start.
Busboys & Poets

And got the veggie burger next.
Busboys & Poets

I got falafel because I have been craving it like crazy lately.
Busboys & Poets

We headed back to Rob’s to pack up and head out of Maryland. Let me tell ya, Eric is one lucky man to have all this. Greasy, dirty hair AND compression socks? Doesn’t get better than that.
Pure Sexiness

On our way back we were able to meet up with Eric’s brother and sister-in-law, who just so happened to be going from Raleigh to Pittsburgh by way of Philly!
Eric and his brother and sister-in-law

We also just so happened to meet them by a Total Wine. I think we are stocked up for a bit. I had to get a case of Shiner because I have been missing Texas a lot lately. Anything that brings home a little closer…
Haul from Total Wine

12 responses to “Photos From The Weekend

  1. Funny, I’ve totally had a hankering for falafel lately, too. I think all your Europe posts made me miss the corner falafel stands over there 🙂

    Glad to hear the race went well!

  2. Shannon Roche

    Soul Veg is ok, but next time you should go to Everlasting Life! It’s only a block or two away, but the service and food is significantly better.

  3. Why? Why must you post all this tasty looking food first thing in the morning?? Especially on mornings when I have NO food.

    Other than that, I kind of really LOVE the picture of you in the cherry blossoms with SNOW in the background!!

  4. You guys are great 🙂 Wonderful job with the run! You should be so proud.

    Q for ya: Why do you use compression socks? Also, why do some runners run the race in them? Just curious 🙂

    • I wear compression socks because I’ve found they helped my legs recover a lot faster. My calves tend to cramp and the socks help elevate some of that, and also get the blood flowing. I wear them on flights too!

      Also, you can find super cheap compression socks at Rite-Aid, CVS, Wal-Mart, etc. You don’t have to buy the super expensive running brands!

  5. Did you see a bunch of idiots playing kickball by the monument on Saturday?! I was one of them! that hail storm sucked majorly, haha. Awesome race! I agree it was really crowded, but gorgeous!

  6. I went to Busboys and Poets last time I was home visiting- thought it was a cool place. Way to go on the run!

  7. Sounds like a fun packed mini trip! I love the photos with the cherry blossoms, they are so gorgeous!!

  8. greensandjeans

    So random that I stumbled upon your blog! I am newish to Philly and I was just down in DC with my bike a few weekends ago too. Congrats on a great race!

Leave a Reply

