Daily Archives: March 24, 2011

Getting Back on Track

Since getting back from vacation Eric and I have both been putting forth a lot of effort on getting back on track with eating and working out.

You might remember a few months ago I challenged myself to actually start using my cookbooks. Well it was going good for a while and then I just kind of fell off the wagon.
The other day I was flipping through Thrive, one of my favorite nutrition books ever. I am huge fan of Brendan Brazier but I had never actually made any of his recipes. This week I was able to knock out two new recipes when I made Bacon Cheeseburgers.

Vegan Bacon Cheeseburger

I combined two burgers recipes from Thrive, the Walnut Hemp and Pecan Sunflower burgers. You can eat these raw or cook them and I choose to toast them slightly in a skillet. For the cheese I made the Creamy Nutritional Yeast Sauce. This sauce was a little weird but really good. It has whole sunflowers in them but I never noticed them while eating. And the bacon is just regular ol’ tempeh bacon.

And on the workout front things are about to get busy.
Eric starts his racing season this upcoming weekend (wish him luck!) and then I have my first race the following weekend (Cherry Blossom 10 miler!). I wasn’t sure how easy/hard it was going to be start running after taking 10 days off and it ended up being a little bit of both. My first run back was full of fail. I actually tripped over my own feet and fell and scraped up both of my knees pretty bad. But all the runs after that have been easy peasy, including my 10 miler yesterday.

Which leads me to my next point…
I’m not sure if it’s the placebo effect or what, but I recently starting taking a magnesium supplement and it’s working wonders. I’ve been having trouble staying asleep all night, I’ll be exhausted, fall asleep just fine, then wake up for a few hours in the middle of the night before falling back asleep around 5am. This happened to me a few years ago and I had to start taking prescription pills. I wanted to avoid that this time (and also avoid a doctor’s visit) so I looked into alternative ways. So far the magnesium pills have been helping (I guess?). But magnesium also helps with muscle recovery and I woke up this morning with absolutely no soreness from my 10 miler yesterday. I’m also trying to each more magnesium rich foods but thought trying a supplement couldn’t hurt. Placebo or not, I’m gonna live it up for the time being.