Balls to the Wall

Laraballs

What you see up there is two different type of yummy, delicious balls.

And yep, I can’t help but snicker when I say that, I will try to hold it together and keep a straight face for the rest of this post though.

I’m back in school and have back to back to back classes most days of the week. Which translates to a very large block of time that I can’t eat. So I have been looking for easy and quick to eat snacks. But buying snacks each week starts to add up so I decided to make my own version of a Larabar. I love eating Larabars because they taste good and the ingredients are really simple.

Laraballs

Making your own balls (or bars) is so easy and takes about 5 minutes.
All you need is:

  • Food processor
  • 2/3 C of pitted dates
  • 1 C of nuts
  • Some mixins

I used 1/2 C almonds and 1/2 C cashews. Blend in your food processor until it’s a chunky flour mixture. Remove and place in bowl. Throw dates in processor and give it a few swirls to chop up the dates. Add nuts back to processor along with your mixins. I’ve been adding in 2 Tbsp chocolate protein powder and 2 Tbsp coconut. Process until it’s all blended then form into balls. Place balls in refrigerator for atleast 1 hour.

Sometimes I make this with just almonds. Sometimes I throw in chocolate chips. Sometimes I add cinnamon and nutmeg. Your combination are pretty endless.

I can’t take much credit for the other ball, but it’s equally easy and equally delicious. It’s a take on Gina’s Protein Balls and I highly suggest making these too! They taste like dessert.

Laraballs

5 responses to “Balls to the Wall

  1. I love these fruit and nut balls, and eat them like candy. My favorite is adding dried cherries along with the dates for the fruit component.

  2. Ohhh, this sounds tasty… except the dates. I think this would be much less expensive than my protein bars, too!!

  3. These photos are excellent. It’s been too long since I’ve made my own date bars. Buying larabars is always easier but where’s the fun in that.

  4. Who’s got big balls? Lauren’s got big balls.

  5. These balls sound like the perfect snakc indeed!

Leave a Reply

