Oat Soda Bread

I know I just posted about reducing/trying to eliminate gluten from my diet, but let’s pretend I didn’t write that for a second…

Oat Soda Bread

The other morning I woke up and started doing my usually internet checking of google reader. That’s when I saw that Heidi Swanson posted a new recipe for Oat Soda Bread. I immediately emailed Eric and said “I’m making this today.”

Oat Soda Bread

Here is the link to the bread on 101 Cookbooks: Oat Soda Bread

This bread was extremely simple to make and would be great if you are in a rush or are scared to use yeast.

Oat Soda Bread

It calls for buttermilk, which you can easily make vegan. Just add 1 Tbsp of vinegar or lemon juice for every cup of milk. I combined about 1 3/4 Tbsp Apple Cider Vinegar with my Almond Milk.

Oat Soda Bread

4 responses to “Oat Soda Bread

  1. Ahhhh that looks scrumptious!

  2. Yuummmmm. I have to admit that if I didn’t have to eat gluten-free I could probably down a loaf of bread a day, especially if it’s home baked.

  3. Yum! I’ve been eying that bread, too… soda bread is one of my favorites, and Heidi always has the best recipes!

  4. i made this yesterday! just finished eating a huge hunk of it. i’m new to your blog and i really love your photos (especially the kitties!)

Leave a Reply

