Vegan Chex Mix

Growing up my mom’s Chex Mix was definitely my favorite snack. Dare I say it’s one of her specialties? I think all my friends would agree. She makes her spicy and adds in Cheerios. Genius.

So naturally I was horrified when I realized that homemade Chex Mix was not veggie friendly since it contains Worcestershire Sauce. My mom and I spent a few years doing a make your own Worcestershire, but it always tasted a little off. I was pretty excited when a couple of years ago I come across vegan Worcestershire Sauce. There are a few different brands out there, but I bet you can easily find some at any natural grocery store. Or you could make your own like we did.

Then to make it vegan you just swap in some Earth Balance instead of butter.

Here is the recipe for The Original Chex Party Mix, but my mom takes it a step further and makes spicy Chex Mix. And I mean spicy.

Add in 2 tsp cayenne pepper and 2 tsp tabasco. Add more cayenne if you aren’t scared, my mom says it’s what makes it. Add 2 cups Cheerios to the mix as well.

4 responses to “Vegan Chex Mix

  1. This sounds amazing. We have a vegan worcestershire sauce, the Wizards brand, so I might have to try this with the organic chex and O’s cereal from Whole Foods.

  2. Ooh! Now I really want Chex mix!

  3. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan

    I only eat Chex mix at Christmas and Thanksgiving, but I love it. My grandma makes it; and she always uses mixed nuts and adds in golden raisins. 🙂

  4. I haven’t made chex mix in forever. It was one of my favorites when I was a kid!

Leave a Reply

