Photos From The Weekend

Eric was out of town all weekend, so I was left on my own! I thought it would be nice to have the apartment to myself, but I quickly realized that it’s actually pretty boring. Thankfully I was able to keep busy most of the weekend and ended up having a lot of fun.

Friday afternoon, I met up with Leslie for an 11 mile run. We headed to Wissahickon again, to get away from our normal Kelly Drive loop. The trail looked really pretty with all the fall leaves!

Running at Wissahickon

Leslie just ran the Chicago marathon LAST WEEKEND, so we took our run nice and slow, with some walking, and lots of photo taking.

Running at Wissahickon

Running at Wissahickon

We stopped halfway to take some self timer photos.

Running at Wissahickon

There were a few jump fail photos.

Running at Wissahickon

Running at Wissahickon

Then finally SUCCESS!

Running at Wissahickon

After the run I quickly headed home, showered, then rode my bike down to Blackbird Pizza. I was meeting up with some fellow vegans from The PPK.

Blackbird Pizza

It was really nice to meet some more strangers from the internet (am I getting pretty good at it these days) and to eat lots of pizza.

Blackbird Pizza

After dinner I headed into center city to meet up with some friends at Bar, but unfortunately I couldn’t hang long because I was falling asleep. Party pooper over here.

Bar

I spent most of Saturday baking. I had spotted Pumpkin Spice Whoopie Pies on Oh She Glows and had been very curious to try them out.

The ingredient list looks kind of long, but it’s really just “a little of this, a little of that” and not complicated at all.

Vegan Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

My batter seemed slightly running, but I still went for it.

Vegan Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

My cookies turned out pretty thin, but they tasted delicious.

Vegan Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

After the cookies cooled, I got to work on the icing. The recipe said to leave out the Almond Milk, but I found I actually needed to use it to thin it out some.

Vegan Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

I then piped the icing on top of one cookie and placed another on the top.

Vegan Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Overall a pretty good cookie, but it’s definitely sweet!

Vegan Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Eric returned Sunday morning and I was more than happy to pick him up! We met up with Juli for brunch at A Full Plate.
Eric ordered the tofu scramble.

Brunch at A Full Plate

Juli went with the heuvos rancheros.

Brunch at A Full Plate

And I ordered the french toast.

Brunch at A Full Plate

We had some great weather on Sunday, and it felt like a crime to stay indoors. We gathered the essentials, and headed to the park to play Scrabble.

Scrabble in the Park

Scrabble in the Park

It was a pretty intense game, and I feel a rematch coming on soon.

Scrabble in the Park

And we, uh, headed to Blackbird for dinner. Let’s not talk about how many times I have eaten there in the past two weeks.

Blackbird

4 responses to “Photos From The Weekend

  1. I need to try Blackbird aka your second home 🙂 Wissa looks so pretty right now!!

  2. This post makes my mouth water. Especially the pizza & sandwich from Blackbird. Mmmmm vegan deliciousness

  3. lady! i have been there more than i’d care to share, too! it’s a wonder we haven’t bumped into eachother. maybe we should plan to bump into eachother, though? that could be fun!

  4. Pingback: Photos From The Weekend | Goodbye Texas, Hello PA

Leave a Reply

