Lancaster Farm Fresh CSA Week 17

Originally we had two eggplants, but I swapped them out for this!! I don’t actually know what it is. Squash? Pumpkin? I can’t wait to cut into it.

1 Bag Baby Mix Peppers (1lb) – certified organic – Organic Willow Acres

Aren’t these adorable?!

1 Bag Hungarian Hot Wax Peppers (¼lb) – certified organic – Railroad Organics

I am loving this Hungarian Wax Peppers. They are similar to a banana pepper, but with a bit more zest.

1 Bag Shallots (¼lb) – certified organic – Shady Brook Organics

1 Bag Red Beets (2lbs) – certified organic – Soaring Eagle Acres

You can’t beat a beet that’s the size of your hand.

1 Butternut Squash – certified organic – Soaring Eagle Acres

A lil’ squash butt action for you. He was feeling frisky.

1 Bunch Dandelion Greens – certified organic – Hillside Organics

One word – BURLY.

We also got some tomatoes, but I traded those out for these green bell peppers. I have a half marathon to run this weekend, but I am sick. BUT did you know that bell peppers have over twice as much vitamin C as oranges? There is your trivia for the day. So I picked this up for the Vit-C and will be eating them every day this week.

9 responses to “Lancaster Farm Fresh CSA Week 17

  1. Make some squash stuffing and serve it inside that thing! I hope you feel better lady, I was looking forward to cheering you on this weekend. What time do you think you will be done the run?

    • Oh that sounds cool! And good!

      I’m not too sick, but starting to get sick. So I am laying low all week and eating well! The run starts at 8, but I bet I won’t cross the start till 8:30. So probably be finished around 10:30?

  2. Oh no!! Get better lady! I’m gonna drop you an email.

  3. That pumpkin squash is cool! If it were me, I’d make a soup with it by cutting off the top, scooping out the seeds and putting it in the oven to roast with some soup making stuff…I usually would use some dairy but seeing as you probably need to make it vegan I am not sure where to go from there. Veg broth? Anyway, when you do it right in the oven, you need to periodically scrape down the sides but make sure you don’t pierce the shell.

    • Interesting idea. I like it! I would try this out but I dont know if lauren will let me use the entire squash/pumpkin as an experiment 😀

  4. In German that pumpkin is called Turbankürbis (turban pumpkin), but I think the English name is Turk’s turban?

  5. After my workout this am I took a stroll through the famers market in Union Square (NY) and it felt so good to pick out produce that was fresh and local. I tend to shop at Whole Foods, but since I work so much I sometimes have to go with what is close to my home/work giving me non-organic veggies that don’t have the same flavor and pizzazz as the ones from the FM.

    🙂

  6. Pingback: It’s CSA Time! « Goodbye Texas, Hello PA

Leave a Reply

