The Eggplant Agenda

As you may recall from yesterday’s post, we received a HUGE eggplant in our CSA box. I am very particular about how I eat my eggplant, but I immediately started making an agenda for all the eggplant.

Eggplant Bruschetta

First up on the ‘eggplant agenda’ was making eggplant bruschetta. Smitten Kitchen has posted a recipe that was on my mind all week, and I couldn’t wait to try it out.

We slightly adapted the recipe, to veganize it, but overall it was extremely easy. Roasted eggplant on top of ciabatta bread topped with cashew cheese and sunflower shoots.

Eggplant Bruschetta

Eggplant Bruschetta

I really want to have a dinner party in the coming months, and I think this would make a nice appetizer.

Eggplant Bruschetta

The weather had slightly cooled down, so Eric and I dined outside on the deck.

Eggplant Bruschetta

Other uses on the ‘eggplant agenda’ – eggplant bacon, grilled eggplant, eggplant napoleons…anything else?

18 responses to “The Eggplant Agenda

  1. i am also picky about eggplant, but found this AWESOME recipe for eggplant carnitas… it’s such a good idea, i am jealous i didn’t think of it myself.

    http://sweetbeetandgreenbean.net/2009/11/10/eggplant-carnitas-tacos/

  2. yum! that looks so good! i have 2 white eggplants from my garden that i need to do something with! i want to avoid the ever popular breading and frying, although undercooked eggplant is TERRIBLE

  3. That looks really good! It’s difficult for me to enjoy eggplant too, but I think I could do this one.

  4. Swooooooooooooooon. That looks too pretty to eat. Feel free to bring that over any time….;)

    • I definitely want to make this for you guys. My way too busy life ends tomorrow, which means more time for cooking, which means more hanging out and eating with you and Josh.

  5. Absolutely gorgeous! Would definitely make a great appetizer for a dinner party. I’ve been having a lot of conversations with eggplant-haters recently, but I think this is definitely a recipe that would convert them! šŸ™‚

  6. I LOVE eggplant, but never buy it since Ben isn’t a fan. I get so jealous of you and Eric’s cooking imagination and abilities. Will you please cook and feed me with your deliciousness one of these days?!?

    • We were planning on doing some cooking down at H2o! Let us know what sounds good or if you have any ideas we can try to make.

  7. I don’t think I have had an eggplant all summer, that is so weird yours look awesome! I wish I still had a CSA

  8. Blend it. Just cuz.

  9. I can’t wait to see how the eggplant bacon turns out.

  10. Wow. I love eggplant and eat it in lots of different ways. But I never thought of eggplant bruschetta. That sounds and looks so simple and amazing at the same time!

  11. Holy shit! That eggplant is blowing my mind.

  12. Pingback: Another Dinner | Goodbye Texas, Hello PA

Leave a Reply

