Photos From The Weekend

Since Friday was Eric’s birthday we had a whole day of celebration to look forward to! We both got home from work early and immediately go to work on opening presents.

I like to say that on Friday we added a special addition to the household. A VITAMIX! Eric was really excited and surprised because we have both been wanting one for a long time.

VITAMIX!

All week I had told him I would bake him a birthday cake on Saturday, but I had secretly ordered a vegan, gluten-free chocolate chip cookie cake from Sweet Freedom. I think he was surprised about this as well.

Sweet Freedom

Sweet Freedom

The cake was excellent and tasted better than I could have imagined. We will definitely be ordering more cakes (and cookies and cupcakes and…) in the future.

Sweet Freedom

Sweet Freedom

We hung out the rest of the afternoon then got ready for birthday dinner at Horizons. The weather has finally started to cool down, so we snagged a table outside.

Dinner at Horizons

We started our meal with the Crispy Lemongrass Tempeh.

Dinner at Horizons

It can be hard, and a pain, to find vegan wine, but Horizons has a great wine menu so we ordered a bottle to share.

Dinner at Horizons

Dinner at Horizons

For entrees Eric ordered the Pan Seared Tofu.

Dinner at Horizons

I was kind of full, and had dessert on my mind, so I ordered A Greener Salad.

Dinner at Horizons

Aww yes, this is what I was waiting for.

Dinner at Horizons

We couldn’t decide, and we were celebrating, so we ordered two desserts.
Eric’s choice was the Blueberry Cheesecake.

Dinner at Horizons

I went with my favorite dessert, Chocolate Stuffed Beignets.

Dinner at Horizons

Oh yeah…

Dinner at Horizons

I found out one of my old co-workers/friends was in town from Dallas, so I went to go meet up with him.

We had a drink before calling it a night.

Birthday Boy!

You might call me a bad girlfriend because I asked Eric to run 11 miles with me the day after his birthday. Luckily he is awesome and happily agreed. We rode our bikes to the Art Museum and met up with Leslie, who was running 18 miles! I don’t have a lot of experience running with other people, but Leslie is really easy and fun to run with. I love running with her and hopefully we will be joining her on some more long runs.
The run went great for me. I haven’t had a good mental run in a while, and I felt strong the entire time and even ran the Rocky steps when I finished.

Once we got home and showered I was starving and figured it was the perfect opportunity to dig into my Glo Bar. Angela made these for the Healthy Living Summit and this bar was amazing! I really liked it and I think a few local people are going to do a group order soon. Can’t wait!

Glo Bar!

We spent the rest of Saturday eating, sleeping and cleaning.

Saturday night we had some friends over to celebrate Eric’s birthday!

Eric's Birthday Party

The weather was great, so we hung out on the deck most of the night.

Eric's Birthday Party

Our friends Kevin and Rachael, on the outside, moved to Hawaii a while back. They are in Philly for a few days before moving to Austin. Luckily we will get to see them more when they move to Texas.

Eric's Birthday Party

Eric's Birthday Party

Chris told me he wanted to be on the blog.

Eric's Birthday Party

We did a round of birthday shots.

Eric's Birthday Party

Eric's Birthday Party

Eric's Birthday Party

Eric's Birthday Party

Whenever Eric and I stay up later than normal the cats try to hang. But then they just end up falling asleep.

Eric's Birthday Party

Eric's Birthday Party

Eric's Birthday Party

Eric's Birthday Party

Adam modeled the new Chin on the Tank t-shirts. Can’t wait till I can buy one!

Eric's Birthday Party

Then he showed us how to ride a motorcycle.

Eric's Birthday Party

Chris showed us as well.

Eric's Birthday Party

The party eventually died down and Eric and I got to sleep at a decent hour.
I woke up Sunday morning with monkey bread on my mind. My mom makes this for breakfast a lot, but I had never made it.

Monkey Bread

Unfortunately it turned out meh. I will get my act together and make a legit version and post the recipe.

Monkey Bread

Since the monkey bread failed we quickly arranged a brunch meet-up with some friends. We headed to South Philly to Royal Tavern for some eats.
Eric ordered the Tofu & Tempeh Hash.

Royal Tavern

And I went with the delicious Tempeh Club.

Royal Tavern

Late nights plus yummy food put us in a coma. After a Target trip we headed home where Eric passed out most of the afternoon.

I think he had a great birthday weekend! I know I had a great weekend celebrating his birthday!

12 responses to “Photos From The Weekend

  1. The “trick” with monkey bread is to cut each biscuit into 3-4 pieces; coat each piece individually in cinnamon/sugar, put it in your greased bundt pan; THEN melt an entire stick worth of earth balance mixed with a hefty amount of cinnamon and sugar and pouring this melted mixture over the cinnamon-sugar coated biscuits. I only make this during the holidays as it’s definitely not healthy 🙂

  2. Awesome fun filled weekend! The food all looked amazing!

  3. cookie cake! happy belated! 🙂

  4. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan

    Ohhh, congrats on the Vitamix!!!
    The cookie cake looks scrumptious, as does everything at Horizons.

  5. Oh how I miss Sweet Freedom. I lived two blocks away and would treat myself a lot to their mocha cupcakes. 😦 Definitely haven’t found anything like it in DC.

  6. Congratulations on your vitamix! That’s awesome! Wish we could have been there for birthday funtime. I think I know that Rachael! We worked at Essene together some 5 years ago.

    AND sorry to be a total creeper but I definitely saw you at Horizons. I was riding backseat in a friend’s car and was like MIKE! THERE ARE OUR NEW BLOG FRIENDS! heh. Anyway. 🙂 I hope it was all as great and fun as it looks.

  7. Just discovered your blog & I’m really loving it! That food looks amazing, Horizons will be at the top of my list if I’m ever in Philly. And your photos are all great too! Looking forward to following your posts! 🙂

  8. Happy Birthday Eric! Vitamixes are GREAT. I’m waiting for my parents to donate me theirs. Needless to say, I better start saving up for one now. Horizons is definitely one of my Philly favorites. I’ve had nothing but great experiences there!

  9. BLENDING PARTY!!!!!

  10. hey i just realized we never did shots of thunderbird…… guess what we’re doing this weekend!

Leave a Reply

