Grill Night

Last summer we grilled atleast once a week. For some reason we haven’t used it much this summer, but I have been bugging Eric for the past few weeks to grill dinner for us one night. We kept planning on it, but something would happen at the last minute derailing our plan.
Well last night we were finally able to put the grill to use.

grill night
We skewered some potatoes, peppers and onions as well as bok choy that was marinated in soy sauce and sriracha. We wrapped some of our CSA corn in foil, but the real star of the grill was the maple grilled tempeh.

Maple Grilled Tempeh adapted from 101 Cookbooks

For grilling I would cut the tempeh in half lengthwise, then cut those down the middle carefully. This will be easier to grill. Grab a long bladed non-serrated knife and cut the tempeh in half lengthwise. Then put the cut side down on the cutting board since it will be flat and work from the top down carefully.

1 package tempeh
3 tablespoons soy sauce or Braggs
3 tablespoons maple syrup
1 teaspoon rice vinegar
2 teaspoons of roasted garlic or garlic oil, you could also use 2 cloves of raw garlic, chopped
2 serrano peppers, you can de-vain and de-seed if you don’t want it as spicy
A pinch of cayenne pepper

Place the cut tempeh in a shallow dish and pour the marinade over it. Marinate for 1-2 hours.

I think this is a good base marinade that you can definitely build upon. In the future I would like to try a smoky version using paprika, liquid smoke and some cumin. I think an Asian twist would work well too, with some sriracha and sesame oil.

It turned out delicious, sweet and spicy. It also paired really well with the bok choy.
grill night

grill night

Grilling didn’t take too long, and we were able to enjoy a delicious meal with minimal cleanup.

grill night

On another note, I know we are a few days late, but Eric and I wanted to do our monthly wrap up. In terms of working out, we both did quite well.
I started half marathon training, and so far it is going quite well. I am doing weekly speed sessions and they are really starting to pay off. I ran a total of 68 miles, barely missing my goal of 75. There is always this month! I also worked out 25 days out of 31! I was pretty proud of that.

Eric has continued to commute to work daily on his bike. In addition to a daily 30 miles he has started doing weekly long rides bringing his daily total to 60 miles some days! He was excited to meet his goal and commuted 608 miles this month with a total of 769 miles overall. Hopefully this month well get to ride together more frequently and start doing some longer rides.

8 responses to “Grill Night

  1. I am going to make that tempeh tonight using a grill pan – did you use a particular brand? Did you do anything to the bok choy?

    • Its funny that you say that though because last night Lauren said we should make this for Kelly & Josh 🙂 Lauren had picked some of the Trader Joe’s brand of tempeh. For the bok choy I marinated them in just some soy sauce, rice wine vinegar, sriracha, agave, sesame oil with some black pepper and garlic powder. Lauren had a recipe last summer she used a lot that was really good, maybe she’ll chime in but its something sort of like that.

    • I usually pick of TJ’s brand of tempeh, but Whole Foods has one that has flax seeds in it that is really good as well.
      Now that we have a good grill recipe, I want to make this for you guys!

      The bok choy is OMG amazing. After all the leaves are separated I just pour soy sauce, sriracha, rice wine vinegar (optional) and some salt and pepper. I let it marinate in the fridge for about 15 minutes.

      The tempeh went really well with the bok choy and rice.

  2. Yes please! I would love if you made this. Tempeh is something I don’t get very often but wish that more places offered.

  3. Chase and I are grilling tomorrow! I’m going to try out that burger recipe you sent me. And I have some zucchini and squash from the fm that is ready to be so awesome grilled.

  4. joshreidphillips

    I am so sold on you guys grilling. That looked like some seriously fantastic food! Name the day and we’re there.

  5. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan

    Tempeh + Braggs = magic :]
    You guys are doing awesome on the workouts, keep it up!

  6. Thanks for the tip on the Runner’s World article Lauren. It’s funny because I actually was reading it at lunch today and then came home and saw your comment. I still think I;m screwed though- I’ve only run one half before and it was really hard for me even after 3 months of training! I’ll be happy if I can even walk 13 miles at this point.

Leave a Reply

