Lancaster Farm Fresh CSA Week 11

Eric and I were able to split the duties of the CSA this week, he picked it up, I was left to photograph and make dinner with the contents.
As usual we were pretty excited about this weeks content! Lots of goodies here.

1 Bunch Herbs – certified organic – Noble Herbs

8 or 9 Ears of Corn – certified organic – Farmdale Organics

1 Bag Green Okra – certified organic – Green Acres Organics

1 Bag Yukon Gold Potatoes – certified organic – Hillside Organics

1 Bag Royal Burgundy Beans– certified organic – Maple Lawn Organics

1 Bag Onions- certified organic – Goshen View Organics

For dinner I made salt and vinegar potatoes and green beans. I had been craving salt and vinegar potatoes since I first saw it on 101 Cookbooks, then Angela at Oh She Glows took it a step further with adding the green beans. It was delicious.
(I used a mixture of some older red potatoes, and this weeks gold potatoes)

I am also really excited for all the corn we got. I can’t wait to grill it, eat it raw in salads, and hopefully make some corn fritters!
Anyone have any good okra recipes? I haven’t had okra since I was a little kid.

9 responses to “Lancaster Farm Fresh CSA Week 11

  1. I adore okra. I think it goes best in gumbos, but it’s also great pickled, roasted whole, and of course-breaded in cornmeal and fried!! (But you have to bread it in cornmeal if you’re going to make it the way we do in the south!)

  2. ooh, we did potatoes and green beans this weekend too, but with lemon and dill. got a post scheduled for tomorrow. 🙂

  3. The challenge sounds great; but if I was part of a CSA; i probably wouldn’t do the challenge until the CSA deliveries stop 🙂

  4. I like roasting okra in the oven with a bit of EVOO until it gets crispy and browned. Then, eat it with ketchup like fries!

  5. Seriously your photos make me feel like I can reach into the screen and grab those veggies! I actually feel disappointed when I realize I can’t 😦 I’ve never tried okra but definitely need to. I feel like I’ve seen it so much around the blog world!

Leave a Reply

