Lancaster Farm Fresh CSA Week 10

Eric was once again busy Tuesday night, which left me with the duty of picking up the CSA and making dinner. I was really excited to get green beans, and there were even a few surprises in there!

Fresh corn that I grabbed instead of tomatoes
Lancaster Farm Fresh CSA Week 10

1 Bag Yukon Gold Potatoes – certified organic – Hillside Organics
Lancaster Farm Fresh CSA Week 10

2 Green Bell Peppers – certified organic – Maple Arch Organics
Lancaster Farm Fresh CSA Week 10

1 Bag Onions– certified organic – Goshen View Organics
Lancaster Farm Fresh CSA Week 10

1 Bunch Bulls Blood Beets – certified organic – Goshen View Organics
Lancaster Farm Fresh CSA Week 10

I also got some beans
Lancaster Farm Fresh CSA Week 10

And what appears to be edamame. Is this edamame? It’s so hairy!
Lancaster Farm Fresh CSA Week 10

Lancaster Farm Fresh CSA Week 10

I picked up this grain blend over the weekend and decided to use it with dinner.

And I made a very simple dinner with green beans, the grain blend, chickpeas, and a Dijon/red wine vinegar dressing. I loosely based it off this recipe that Emily made, who has a really awesome blog with great recipes.

Delicious. I ate it warm tonight, but I am excited to eat it cold tomorrow!

7 responses to “Lancaster Farm Fresh CSA Week 10

  1. yep….edamame

  2. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan

    That harvest grain mix looks really good!

  3. YUM! I am using mine a little bit at a time this week. Tonight I am due to cook soup with the chard and put in the freezer. We got some great grape-size tomatoes and I have been putting them in just about every meal. The heirlooms did not fare well and had to chuck 2 which is a shame b/c I was going to use them for a pizza tonight. I can’t get enough of the sweet onions. We had fajitas last night and I am not sure how I will go back to red onions after having them.

  4. The furry edamame are cute! I was wondering how much the CSA costs (if you don’t mind me asking!)? I found one here but wasn’t sure what it “should” cost…

    • Not at all! Our CSA cost $475, and that is for 28 weeks of veggies. We did a half share, which is plenty of food for 2 people.
      It’s a lot of money up front, but breaks down to $16-17/week which isn’t bad.

Leave a Reply

